For visitors Guestbook Kuressaare mapservice
Local Authority
Kuressaare City Council
Kuressaare City Government
Twin Cities
Living environment
For Investors
Kuressaare Sea Festival
Photo gallery
Public Library

Kuressaare City Council


Kuressaare City Council is the legislative body of a local government elected by the residents of the city with the right to vote pursuant to the Local Government Council Election Act.


Exclusive competence

*Endorsement & amendment of municipal budget
*Application of local taxes
*Adoption & amendment of City Development Plan
*Initiation, adoption & repeal of Master Plan
*Adoption & repeal of detailed plans
*Arranging the administration, utilisation & disposal of municipal property
*Making loans & assuming proprietary obligations
*Electing from office the Mayor
*Appointing & releasing from office the City Government
*Foundation, reorganisation & termination of municipal companies & foundations

Chairman of the City Council: Toomas Takkis, toomas.takkis(a) 
Deputy Chairman: Piret Sarjas, piret.sarjas(a)

City Council members 2013-2017

Toomas Takkis
Piret Sarjas
Taavi Rauniste
Mart Mäeker
Kaarel Väer
Toivo Alt
Viljar Aro
Leet Rauno Lember
Ly Kallas
Kairit Lindmäe
Lea Kuldsepp
Merit Karise
Reet Tuisk
Jaanis Prii
Tambet Kikas
Helle Kahm
Argo Kirss
Tiia Tammsalu
Anti Toplaan
Gert Nepper
Jüri Kuusk

City Council Committees

  • Committee of Finance & Economy
  • Committee of Environment & Construction
  • Committee of Social & Health Care
  • Committee of City Citizen
  • Committee of Education
  • Committee of Culture
  • Commitee od Development
  • Auditing Committee

City Council Office:
2 Tallinna Str Kuressaare 93819
Information: +372 455 0524
e-mail: volikogu(a)
Fax: +372 453 3586

Last modified: 11:59 19.03.2014